What to eat if tofu is off the menu? - Reisverslag uit Cardiff, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu What to eat if tofu is off the menu? - Reisverslag uit Cardiff, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu

What to eat if tofu is off the menu?

Door: Sarajan Graanoogst

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sarajan

19 Februari 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cardiff

Since the very first grocery shopping occasion I became slowly but surely aware of a peculiarity. I could not locate the soy products like the ones I usually see in the Dutch stores. I have yet to find these familiar products which are tasty, if prepared well, and easy to use in a wide range of dishes.

Up till now I had to re-familiarize myself with the various pesi types that are known for their protein content. So it was kidney beans, brown beans, chick peas, etc. that were on the menu.
You’d be surprised what kinds of variations are possible by employing these. I have made dishes based on Mediterranean spices, curry, chili sin carne and pasta. All were wonderful compositions of color and careful selections to balance my meals when it comes to all the necessary substances from the so called “pyramid of food”.
I have heard that everything is more expensive in the UK and so far I have not been disappointed when it comes to my expectations. Luckily I found a Lidl where I can at least shop for groceries in a economically sensible fashion.

I am currently scratching my head while trying to find some interesting facts to fill up the rest of this installment, but so far I am falling short.
Oh well I guess I shall have to talk about some interesting topics in the next installments.

TTFN

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cardiff

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

10 November 2014

Chapter 12

10 November 2014

Chapter 11

10 November 2014

Chapter 10

10 November 2014

Chapter 9

10 November 2014

Chapter 8
Sarajan

Actief sinds 05 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 126
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9895

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Januari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

05 Februari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: