Arrival at Cardiff - Reisverslag uit Cardiff, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu Arrival at Cardiff - Reisverslag uit Cardiff, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu

Arrival at Cardiff

Door: Sarajan Graanoogst

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sarajan

05 Februari 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cardiff

Chapter 1 Arrival and the first Quest
Traveling to Wales proved to be rather tiresome. It could be the fact that I had an exam earlier that day. Or maybe it was the fact that I had to carry around at least 42 kg of weight with me all the time.
Oh well after taking a delayed flight, figuring out which busses to take to reach my destination I finally reached East Grove 11. Before my arrival at the place I would call home for the coming 4 months I already figured out that I had a huge challenge ahead of me, namely locating the person who could get me the key to the building and my room.
By the time I reached my destination I already decided to just ring the bell and see what would happen. After ringing the bell for about 4 times (nobody opened the bloody door) I decided to try and call.
Regrettably the office was already closed and thus my first adventure had started:

"The quest to find the key to the east grove shack (can’t think of a fancier title at the moment)"

Since I reckoned there are helpful and kind people like me all over the world I decided to start my quest at my neighbors’ house. This time someone opened after only ringing two times (ringing of the same bell, as there were three maybe I technically ringed 4 times). And there was Justin, a bloke from England who has been in the Netherlands a few times and knows a bit of Dutch himself. His Dutch friends had taught him mostly the bad sentences, but still what a coincidence (if these even exist (said in an old and mysterious voice)). But together we went to his landlord (turns out he was not connected to the University). Afterwards we rang my bell again for quite some time and finally someone decided to open.
The first impression that I got was: not very sociable, nor helpful, but eventually the guy that opened the door grudgingly let me leave most of my baggage there and advised me to go to Senghennydd Court, where the residence organization could be found. I knew it was already after hours, but I was told I could pick up the keys at security. I’m glad Justin decided to join me on my quest. He got the brilliant idea to walk in another building that was on the way. After some explaining to a lady behind a desk, with as it turned out later quite some feeling for humor, we were sent to … the student warden. He could verify my story and if proven satisfactory could provide me with a key.
So off to Senghennydd we went. Justin was leading as I had as of yet no idea where to go. But we found it quickly. After the great warden of Senghennydd Court was appeased I received the legendary key of the “East Grove Shack 11-2.

After this ordeal I dumped all my stuff in my room and went in search of sustenance as my mortal form was betraying me ;) I soon located (with the help of Justin) a street with some stores and a few restaurants amongst which were two Indian restaurants next to each other (either business is booming and they can coexist or competition will soon force one of them away). Oh well, I decided to go in as this type of restaurant usually has delicious dishes of my kind. I cannot say that it was the most pleasant atmosphere (what with crying babies and a fire alarm going off), but the food tasted real good and I was too tired to notice much else anyway.

Well after this heartening meal I decided to go unpack, make plans for tomorrow and go to bed. Luckily I could still pick up some supplies on the way home for breakfast tomorrow. Interestingly enough it was in a store that made me think of the Chinese shops in Suriname, only difference is that it was run by Indian people and therefore more Indian products could be found there.

Before going to bed I scoped the shack and I must say I was not really impressed. I probably will have to arrange my own internet, the kitchen and communal area stinks and the bathroom on both floors have hinge slots (by the way no door has a doorknob or handle). Also the bathroom on the lower floor has a light that turns on about 10 seconds after you flipped the switch. But as I have often said since experiencing a week with barely any sleep during my bachelor dissertation and a terrible journey to Crete “I will survive”. Besides I have been worse places. I will just have to get used to things here.
I’m going to finish this installment it’s time to get some rest. Tomorrow is going to be a very busy day and I still have exams coming up next week.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cardiff

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

10 November 2014

Chapter 12

10 November 2014

Chapter 11

10 November 2014

Chapter 10

10 November 2014

Chapter 9

10 November 2014

Chapter 8
Sarajan

Actief sinds 05 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 198
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9693

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Januari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

05 Februari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: