Ch 5 +Ch 6 - Reisverslag uit Bloemfontein, Zuid-Afrika van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu Ch 5 +Ch 6 - Reisverslag uit Bloemfontein, Zuid-Afrika van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu

Ch 5 +Ch 6

Door: Sarajan Graanoogst

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sarajan

10 November 2014 | Zuid-Afrika, Bloemfontein

Chapter 5 Saying goodbye to the three girls and getting a ‘Lion-hug’

On the 29th of June Celine, Sirin and Emma would say goodbye to all the animals and us as well (Taru Hector and me).

This is also the day that will go down in history as the first day I got a Lion-hug from Alzu. I was sitting on the side of the wall of his house taking pictures of him and the brats and filming occasionally. Suddenly he joined me on the ledge and I thought “cool, now I can take close up pictures and a film”. Just as impulsively as his jump on the ledge he suddenly jumped, put his front paws around my shoulders and gave me a 30-60 second hug. Up till now (evening of June the 30th) I have not had a hug like that. The other hugs I received were basically a prelude to play. In those cases he usually goes for either my arm or shoulder to bite (softly).

At night I said goodbye to the Sirin and Celine with a hug (as they would be leaving very early the next morning). Emma was asleep pretty quickly though, so I missed her.

Chapter 6 Training the newbies in the art of chicken skinning
Introducing the newbies Damien and Jamie-Lee of the Netherlands & Jessica from Switzerland proved to be an easy task. It went pretty quickly. Poop-scoopinig is easy to be fair and changing water as well. But they also connected well with the group (especially with me I think). The feeding will take more time to get right, but to be fair that is the most difficult part of the job. It took me three days to learn everything.
In our break we also decided to build a sandbox for the brats, Lebombo and Alzu. Celine, Emma and Sirin were the instigators for building a nice playing and climbing set for Alzu and the brats. The sandbox will probably the place where they will get dirty and it might function as a litterbox as well.

At night we had a huge increase in our ranks: Nine new volunteers. I’ve already forgotten the names, but in time I will know them all.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Zuid-Afrika, Bloemfontein

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

10 November 2014

Chapter 12

10 November 2014

Chapter 11

10 November 2014

Chapter 10

10 November 2014

Chapter 9

10 November 2014

Chapter 8
Sarajan

Actief sinds 05 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 92
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9670

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Januari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

05 Februari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: