Burglar alert or coming eye-to-eye with burglars - Reisverslag uit Cardiff, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu Burglar alert or coming eye-to-eye with burglars - Reisverslag uit Cardiff, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu

Burglar alert or coming eye-to-eye with burglars

Door: Sarajan Graanoogst

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sarajan

18 Maart 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cardiff

That Wednesday (March 5th) I decided to do a little catching up workwise and to pay bills. I was doing great until I looked up after picking my internet contract out of a drawer as I thought I had been billed ₤20 too much. I had called the service from Virgin Media to get clarification and was told that apparently “there were costs involved in sending me the hub by courier, those costs were ₤20”. Now I wanted to check it in my contract as I know no one told me about those costs earlier. Not the guy who helped me place the order for broadband internet nor the guy who came to install (free of charge according to an action that had been going on earlier). So I reached down to get my contract and when I came up I was shocked to see two pairs of eyes looking back at mine through the window.

My house mates from the Netherlands might now say “big deal” as all ground floor apartments there have large windows and a sliding door that outsiders just walk by. However my current living quarter is located on the ground floor of a house and the only window of my room borders to our back garden that is surrounded by stone walls. In other words these two chaps had climbed over the wall to see whether there were easy pickings to be had at my house. They clearly did not expect anyone to be home for when my eyes met theirs they looked pretty startled as well. The eye-contact lasted for about two split seconds before they ran to the back of the garden, climbed over the wall and were gone again.

It disrupted the rest of my day. I have contacted security of the university and they have said that they would keep an eye on my place for the coming time so I am somewhat put at ease. Still, when something like this happens you tend to feel unsafe and you tend to fear losing your stuff. Now I know stuff can be replaced, but that doesn’t mean that losing it is no big issue. Oh well, I just hope that coming eye-to-eye with me put them off as well.

So that was my thrilling Wednesday. On the next episode I am reacquainted with skating on ice. Until then, cheers!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cardiff

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

10 November 2014

Chapter 12

10 November 2014

Chapter 11

10 November 2014

Chapter 10

10 November 2014

Chapter 9

10 November 2014

Chapter 8
Sarajan

Actief sinds 05 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 154
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9655

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Januari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

05 Februari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: