A meeting with foes at Bath University - Reisverslag uit Cardiff, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu A meeting with foes at Bath University - Reisverslag uit Cardiff, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu

A meeting with foes at Bath University

Door: Sarajan Graanoogst

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sarajan

04 Maart 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cardiff

Wednesday the 26th had arrived. This would be the day when I would become acquainted with some of the fencers of the Bath University Club. It would also be the first moment I would compete in a cup like competition that takes place every year between some Universities of the UK. Our University had already broken through to the finals so the coming matches would be challenging indeed. I had also been told in advance that since we would be missing our strongest fencer and the opponents were very tough indeed we virtually stood no chance at all of getting passed this round. I was determined to make the most of it though.

With that positive thought in mind I left my home around 13.30 to go to the Central train station about 30 min walking from my home at East Grove. I was the first there and waited for about ten minutes for the others to arrive. I met the president of the club and fervent (and skilled) foil fencer Ed (short for Edward) in front of the station. It turned out that Tom Brien (our main Sabreur) and George Hawksworth (our team captain and main epeeist) were already present sitting at some café. We were still one man short, so after Ed helped me buy a ticket at the machine (it was more challenging than you might think) we joined Tom and George and waited for Jack Houlston. In retrospect I have to say that the ticket was at a price (₤19,20 for a return ticket) comparable to the prices in the Netherlands. However since I have a railway card in the Netherlands the price is normally much lower for me. Oh well, since there are railway cards in the UK as well I suppose the financial burden is virtually the same for UK-residents in possession of mentioned card.

About five minutes waiting later Jack arrived and we went on to the train and I have to say the Dutch trains are quite different. The UK trains (at least the ones we took) have narrower entrances, baggage ledges and the four-seat “booths” have a larger table that virtually provides table space for all four of the passengers sitting there. Another point of difference was a snacks cart coming by (I was instantly reminded of the following: “anything of the trolley dears?”). Now that I think back on it I am so sorry that I forgot to bring my camera that day (I guess I’ll just have to describe everything as good as possible).
The trip to Bath took about 15 minutes shy of 2 hours. When we finally arrived I marveled at the difference with Cardiff in Wales. The city center seemed like that of a really picturesque town from around the 17th century. Of course there were some modern looking buildings like the train station and the streets were modern-looking. I saw a few nice churches on the way to the “University Sports Complex” and in all honesty I wouldn’t mind going back there to wander the streets there and explore Bath. But that day we had come for one thing only: To duel for the honor of our University. I was completely unprepared for what awaited us though.

When we arrived at the “University Sports Complex” I was stunned. It was immense. Inside the had an indoor running track, a fitness center four times the size of the one at “Twente University” and much more. And more importantly there was a fencing hall that was at least two-and-a-half times as large as my own fencing hall. The hall had 8 built in fencing piste’s with wires in place. As Edward would tell me later the large difference in the sports complexes of e.g. Bath University and Cardiff University is due to the funding that the respective Universities provide sports with. So it seems that sports funding is not really under pressure in the UK.

But let’s move on to the fencing. I have to say that after the round of foil I understood the comments of my team mates. We were beaten with around 30 against 45. And taking into account that their team was definitely stronger than any team I have ever fenced against and our team was possibly the strongest foil team I had ever been a part of, the score says a lot about the gap in quality between the two teams. Also looking back I have to say I did not really think that they were going for it 100% while I can say that we were giving it our all. Still I had a nice time getting to know the guys a bit better through noting their sense of humor. I have to say it wasn’t nearly as dry as other peoples’ prejudices would have me believe the British humor is. After the Sabre and Epee rounds concluded in somewhat the same fashion we could go home knowing we beat the best score our University scored against Bath University in the remembrance of the oldest fencer at our club. In short we could go home with our heads held high. And after a pleasant ride back in the train (and a 30 minute walk) I once again reached my temp home.

I had a great time and the training of that Friday gave me even more to look forward to: A social of the fencing club to an ice skating rim the following week. Speaking of things to look forward to I had mentioned earlier that I was going to visit some sites in Wales. I had initially planned to go in the weekend but the weather forecast dissuaded against this action so I rescheduled for Tuesday the 4th of March. Instead I would continue my studies and do some recreational activities (reading, watching a movie, etc.).

Well tomorrow I will go travel again. Searching for adventure and above all wonderful experiences. Good night!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cardiff

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

10 November 2014

Chapter 12

10 November 2014

Chapter 11

10 November 2014

Chapter 10

10 November 2014

Chapter 9

10 November 2014

Chapter 8
Sarajan

Actief sinds 05 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 214
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9664

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Januari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

05 Februari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: