I go to Cardiff bay & Bute park and become a hero - Reisverslag uit Cardiff, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu I go to Cardiff bay & Bute park and become a hero - Reisverslag uit Cardiff, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu

I go to Cardiff bay & Bute park and become a hero

Door: Sarajan Graanoogst

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sarajan

22 Februari 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cardiff

The first thing I noticed when I woke up on Sunday the 16th was the sun creeping through the slit left by the blinds before my window. Wait a minute! Sun?!!! Yes. It was the sun, finally making an appearance in Wales. I cannot easily describe the feeling I got at that moment. The closest I come is by comparing it what I feel when I can leave shed my jacket for the first time after the cold from the winter has passed. I feel happy, giddy and above all else free. I decided on the spot to go to Cardiff bay, where could be seen some nice scenic views and buildings. After figuring out the route while simultaneously having breakfast and fixing lunch I stepped out my door. And I found out that no matter how much planning you do, you can still lose your way if you do not take a very detailed map with you. But who cares. On a day as beautiful as last Sunday I don’t mind losing my way and having to wonder around longer while seeing more of the area I’m in.

In the end it took me about 40 minutes of walking to get there. But it was well worth it. When I arrived the first thing I saw was the large “Millenium Center”. Which is the hosting building of many a play and musical. And … instant idea: Why not go to a musical with a nice group of people? Of course I should make a few “friends” first. So the socials of the coming week will be spent trying to find people to come along with me to the Milennium Center to see a nice musical. Yes, I set another challenge for myself and one that certainly yields merits upon achieving success. The second thing I saw was a beautiful red church lying at the left of a plaza. To the right the start of the (at least in Cardiff) famous “Mermaid Quay” could be seen. While wondering around and snapping lots of pictures I came upon an attraction called the “Doctor Who experience”. It seemed interesting, but for me it was kind of pointless to spend money on it as I have not even seen one episode or the movie and so I decided to wonder around some more, eat some lunch in between and just enjoy the nice weather. When I had been in the bay for about 3 hours I decided to take a boat ride back to the Bute Park which coincidentally lies behind Cardiff Castle.

The bay may have been beautiful, the park was lovely. I have to say that I state this by taking into account my dreams of what the park may be in the middle of spring or summer. And it was obvious the squirrels agreed with me. All around the park you could see them climbing, running and jumping. While I was enjoying their antics and (yes once again) making pictures I noticed two little girls playing at a tree. One of them was as far as I could tell trying to get down. However she noticed that which most kids do when climbing trees. Going up is easier and usually does not include fearful clutching of branches and careful and slow sliding along branches. After observing this for a few moments I decided to step in. I walked up to the tree and asked the girl whether she wanted any help in getting down. I proceeded in giving some instructions as to how she would in the easiest and quickest way reach the ground. It was quite simple really all I had to say was: “Don’t worry. If you just swing your leg over the branch to the side where I am standing and let go I will catch you. Have no fear.” Almost as soon as her feet hit the ground she ran away to her mother, who as it turns out was sitting on a bench nearly 200 meters away. I waved for a second and then resumed my stroll around the park as if nothing significant had happened. It’s all in a hero’s daily work I suppose.

About an hour later when the sun was already climbing lower in the western sky I decided it was time to go home to grab some dinner, relax a little more and prepare for the coming week. If all goes right I should have a very busy and entertaining week.

Until the next exciting episode of … Sarajan’s adventures in Wales (theme song in the background:P)
Ciao!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cardiff

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

10 November 2014

Chapter 12

10 November 2014

Chapter 11

10 November 2014

Chapter 10

10 November 2014

Chapter 9

10 November 2014

Chapter 8
Sarajan

Actief sinds 05 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 192
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9652

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Januari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

05 Februari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: