The first day in Cardiff - Reisverslag uit Cardiff, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu The first day in Cardiff - Reisverslag uit Cardiff, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Sarajan Graanoogst - WaarBenJij.nu

The first day in Cardiff

Door: Sarajan Graanoogst

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sarajan

05 Februari 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cardiff

This first day in Cardiff has gone by in a haze of exhaustion. Even though it is only 19.52 I feel like I am ready to drop. I have walked miles and miles today trying to get as much done as possible. But oh the amount of time and energy it took.

I left my home at 10.00 after a nice long rest and set out to sign my room contract. On my list were the following tasks:
Sign a room contract
Get a student card
Get a bank letter
Open a bank account
Get adapters to have access to electricity
Get supplies in order to eat

Now I am proud to say that I have accomplished all those things on the list. Since the area is completely new to me I have probably walked a lot of distance unnecessarily.
Thinking back on it I believe I should have tried to get a room nearer to the campus where I could get wifi internet connection as I now need to arrange something myself in order to get access to internet.
Since I don’t I haven’t spoken with a living soul I know for more than 24 hours and in a house with 3 Chinese students, a Nigerian student, a kind of rude student whose origins are unknown to me (turned out later he is a bit nicer and comes from Cyprus) and some other students I have yet to find companionship. The house itself doesn’t seem that hospitable either. The kitchen is awful. There is no living room. I know I should not despair, but having missed the introduction week and knowing no living soul here I can’t help but feel lonely. And as my second test of the second quartile is only two days and an evening away I feel the pressure. The fact that I have no internet to check where my courses will be from Monday on, or that I have after the second test only two days to study for the third doesn’t help one bit.

But there are some points of light in the darkness. I have found information that can at least get me internet on-campus, although I will have to leave the “comforts of home” to find it. I have decided to go to the library of the school of mathematics in order to study and get internet connection and reconnect with my loved ones. Some additional light comes from the fact that at least the personnel is very kind and helpful. I just hope I find the kind and sociable students before long. I know I need to study but some friendly ears to listen to my woes and worries might help me to leave them behind sooner in order to focus on my studies.

Ok, enough of the whining. Time to put on some active music and start studying! Tomorrow is another day. One last thing did I mention that I have no access to easy money? I would have to go to an ATM and get charged for getting money. I guess I'll just have to hold out until I get my card from my new UK account.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cardiff

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

10 November 2014

Chapter 12

10 November 2014

Chapter 11

10 November 2014

Chapter 10

10 November 2014

Chapter 9

10 November 2014

Chapter 8
Sarajan

Actief sinds 05 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 107
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9657

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Januari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

05 Februari 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: